The site for English-speaking fans of Henning Mankell’s detective series
featuring Kurt Wallander of Ystad, Sweden.
Home | News rss | About the Site | Contact Us | Admin 
The Mysteries
Faceless Killers
The Dogs of Riga
The White Lioness
The Man Who Smiled
The Fifth Woman
One Step Behind
The Pyramid
The Grave
The Troubled Man
Before the Frost w/Linda
Yellow Bird Film Series
Return of the Dancing Master
The Man from Beijing
Other Works

Reader’s Guide
About Henning Mankell
Timeline & Reading Order
Publishing Schedule
Film & DVD Info
Ystad & Sweden

Mailing List
Forums (disabled)

Other Stuff
Other Nordic Authors

Timeline of the Kurt Wallander Stories
The English Translations are not being published in order. Here is a list of all the books with their original Swedish publication date to help you. The titles are listed in the order in which they occur in the timeline of the series. Note that there are three series and they do overlap as characters are mentioned from one series to the next.

Timeline of the Kurt Wallander Mystery Series
# Title Series Original Swedish
Publication Date
1 The Pyramid Kurt Wallander 1999
2 Faceless Killers Kurt Wallander 1991
3 The Dogs of Riga Kurt Wallander 1992
4 The White Lioness Kurt Wallander 1993
5 The Man Who Smiled Kurt Wallander 1994
6 Sidetracked Kurt Wallander 1995
7 The Fifth Woman Kurt Wallander 1996
8 One Step Behind Kurt Wallander 1997
9 Firewall Kurt Wallander 1998
10 The Return of the Dancing Master Stefan Lindman 2000
11 Before the Frost Linda Wallander 2002
12 The Grave Kurt Wallander 2004
13 The Troubled Man Kurt Wallander 2009